New Appointments To The Mental Health Commission Announced

Kathleen Lynch T.D., Minister for Disability, Equality, Mental Health and Older People today announced appointments to the Mental Health Commission for the period 2012 – 2017.

The new Commission will be chaired by Mr John Saunders, Director of Shine the national organisation dedicated to upholding the rights and addressing the needs of all those affected by mental illness. The other members of the Commission include representatives of the medical, nursing, other health and legal professionals, voluntary bodies, mental health service users and the general public.

The full list of members appointed by the Minister is as follows:

Dr Mary Keys, Lecturer, NUI Galway (reappointed)

Dr Michael Byrne, Principal Psychology Manager, HSE West

Dr Maeve Doyle, Consultant Child & Adolescent Psychiatrist, Monaghan

Dr Francis Xavier Flanagan, General Practitioner, Kildare

Ms Pauline Gill, Principal Social Worker, National Forensic Service, Dublin

Dr Anne Jeffers, Consultant Psychiatrist, Galway

Mr Ned Kelly, Director of Nursing, Cork

Ms Colette Nolan, Irish Advocacy Network

Ms Catherine O’Rourke, Director of Nursing, Louth/Meath

Ms Patricia O’Sullivan Lacy, Barrister-At-Law (reappointed)

Mr John Redican, National Service Users Executive (reappointed)

Mr Martin Rogan, HSE (reappointed)

Mr John Saunders, Shine (reappointed)

The Minister expressed her sincere thanks to the outgoing members of the Mental Health Commission. In its five years in office from 2007 – 2012 the Commission contributed significantly to improving the quality of mental health services for users and patients. The Minister also acknowledged the important role of the Commission in developing mental health services in line with A Vision for Change.


Related Northern Ireland Recruitment News Stories
Click here for the latest headlines.

03 March 2010
HSE Workers Fight Pay Cuts
A campaign against pay cuts by civil and public service workers has increased in intensity today as Health Service Executive workers announce a plan to extend industrial action this week. From 9am this morning until 1pm, HSE workers in the Dublin and northeast region will stop answering telephones.