GE 2019 Sees Historic Conservative Win

While Northern Ireland is now represented by a majority of nationalist MPs, the general UK-wide picture of the 2019 General Election shows a huge victory for the Conservatives, their best result since 1987.

Boris Johnson was delivered a mandate in Thursday's poll and later confirmed as Prime Minister after his party won a total of 364 seats, and will now push forward with his Brexit agenda.

His opposition lost a crushing 59 seats, leaving 203 Labour MPs to return to the House of Commons and considerable doubt as to whether Jeremy Corbyn will continue as their leader.

Meanwhile, amplified calls for a second Scottish independence referendum are another key result of the poll after the Scottish National Party enjoyed an immense boost with an additional 13 seats, bringing their MP total to 48.
News Image
The dramatic night also saw Liberal Democratic leader Jo Swinson lose her seat in Dunbartonshire East. Under party rules, the Lib Dem leader must have a seat on the green benches, meaning a leadership contest will be held early next year. Overall the Lib Dems ended the poll with 11 seats, one fewer than at the 2017 election.

The DUP will return to the House of Commons with eight MPs, two less than before after losing Belfast North to Sinn Fein and Belfast South to the SDLP, and will also no longer be in an active Confidence & Supply Agreement with the Conservatives.

Sinn Fein, who have long abstained from taking their seats, maintain their total of seven MPs while the SDLP now hold two seats and Alliance one.

Welsh party Plaid Cymru maintained its hold with four seats, while the Green Party's Caroline Lucas was re-elected to her Brighton Pavilion constituency with a greater majority, and as the party's sole MP.

Click here for more details on what Northern Ireland's representation at Westminster now looks like.


Related Northern Ireland News Stories
Click here for the latest headlines.

10 December 2021
Two Men Arrested After Knife Held To Man's Throat In Ballymena
Two men have been arrested after a man was awoke from his sleep by intruders who held a knife to his throat and demanded money. The incident happened at a house in the Cardiff Drive area of Ballymena in the early hours of Thursday morning, 09 December. Police described the incident as "distressing".
06 November 2020
Sexual Crime Victims Continually Let Down- Green Party NI
Latest official figures on sexual offences in Northern Ireland show victims are being continually let down, the Green Party has claimed. Calls for improved outcomes for victims have emerged after the Public Prosecution Service (PPS) revealed that the conviction rate for the offence of rape stands at 29.9%.
09 March 2007
DUP and Sinn Fein leading in Assembly Elections
UPDATE: The Democratic Unionist Party and Sinn Fein hold the majority of seats in the Northern Ireland Assembly Election. The DUP and Sinn Fein emerged considerably ahead of the other parties with main losers the UUP dropping 9 seats to retain just 18 seats.
23 August 2010
McCrea Bids For Unionist Leadership
The NI Policing Board member and Lagan Valley MLA Basil McCrea is to stand for leadership of the Ulster Unionist Party (UUP).
13 December 2018
PM Theresa May Survives No Confidence Vote
Prime Minister Theresa May has survived a vote of no confidence in her leadership which was held on Wednesday evening, 12 December. Conservative MPs were balloted on whether or not Mrs May should remain as party leader. They voted in support of her by 200 votes to 117.