Second UUP Resignation Shock

A second Ulster Unionist has resigned from the party over its electoral link-up with the Conservatives.

Alan McFarland, an MLA for North Down, (pictured) quit last night citing the "detrimental" pact for his decision.

Last week the UUP's sole Westminster MP, Lady Hermon, ended months of speculation by leaving the party and announcing intentions to contest her Parliamentary seat at the forthcoming general election as an Independent candidate. She had earlier made it clear she would not stand under a joint UUP and Tory banner.

Sir Reg Empey, the UUP leader, agreed on a voting alliance with Conservative leader David Cameron in 2008.

A UUP spokesman last night expressed "disappointment" at Mr McFarland's resignation, but said it was not "unexpected".
News Image
In a statement disclosing his exit from the party, Mr McFarland described the Ulster Conservatives and Unionists - New Force (UCUNF) deal as "detrimental" to unionist interests in Northern Ireland.

He will now sit as an Independent MLA in the Assembly, after serving as a UUP representative for 12 year.

"With the recent confirmation of candidates, including the imposition of a Conservative candidate in my own North Down constituency, it is clear that the party is determined to continue down the Conservative road," Mr McFarland said in a statement.

"I do not wish to join them. I am sorry to leave a party that contains many good friends, and greatly regret that events have developed in the way they have."

Mr McFarland is expected to participate in Lady Hermon's general election campaign.


Related Northern Ireland News Stories
Click here for the latest headlines.

08 January 2020
Green Party Issues Message Of Support For Those Struggling
Deputy Leader of Northern Ireland's Green Party Mal O'Hara has spoken out after a number of people lost their lives to suicide in recent times. Mal O'Hara, who sits on the board of a local suicide prevention charity, has highlighted the support available for anyone who may be struggling.
18 December 2019
DUP Selects New Westminster Leader
The DUP has selected Lagan Valley MP Sir Jeffrey Donaldson as its new leader in Westminster. He will replace the outgoing Nigel Dodds, who lost the North Belfast seat to Sinn Fein's John Finucane in last week's General Election. Mr Dodds had held his seat since 2001.
28 November 2003
Final results in for 2003 NI Assembly election
UPDATE: With all counts declared on Friday evening the clear winners are the Rev Ian Paisley's Democratic Unionist Party who have claimed 10 more seats on the Assembly and Sinn Féin who have won 6 seats.
24 June 2005
UUP set to decide on new leader
The Ulster Unionist Party is just 24 hours away from electing a new leader to replace David Trimble on this its centenary year. The party’s 770 council delegates will meet at a Belfast hotel on Friday night to elect a new leader from the trio of candidates: Sir Reg Empey, Alan McFarland and David McNarry.
09 May 2005
NI council results at present
NI’s elected councillors as of Monday afternoon Carrickfergus: Billy Ashe, Terence Clement, David Hilditch, Patricia McKinney (DUP), Sean Neeson (AP), William Hamilton, Charles Brown (Ind) Newtownabbey: William Ball, Paula Bradley, Nigel Hamilton, Robert Hill, John Mann, Mandy Girvan (DUP), Tom Campbell, Lynn Frazer (AP), Janet Crilly, Ken Robi