Final results in for 2003 NI Assembly election

UPDATE: With all counts declared on Friday evening the clear winners are the Rev Ian Paisley's Democratic Unionist Party who have claimed 10 more seats on the Assembly and Sinn Féin who have won 6 seats.

The early progress by the DUP, some of which has been clawed back as the counts progressed, have prompted hard liners within the Ulster Unionist Party, in particular Jeffery Donaldson, to renew outspoken criticism of the Ulster Unionist Party's pro-agreement leadership stance of former First Minister David Trimble.

The SDLP led by former Deputy First Minister Mark Durkan have fared much worse than many expected from the retirement of the party's old guard and a heavy encroachment into their vote share by Sinn Fein. Several SDLP candidates won seats as the complex vote transfer process was completed but the SDLP have six fewer seats than in 1998.

Final results by Constituency:
  • Antrim East:

    Roy Beggs (UUP); Sammy Wilson (DUP); Thomas Geroge Dawson (DUP) David Hilditch (DUP) Sean Neeson (AP) Ken Robinson (UUP).

  • Antrim North:

    Rev. Ian Paisley (DUP); Ian Paisley Jnr. (DUP); Rev. Robert Coulter (UUP); Mervyn Storey (DUP); Philip Deeny (SF); Sean Farren (SDLP).

  • Antrim South:

    David Burnside (UUP); Wilson Clyde (DUP); Paul Girvan (DUP); Jim Wilson (UUP); Thomas Burns (SDLP); David Ford (AP).

  • Belfast East:

    Peter Robinson (DUP); Sir Reg Empey (UUP). Robin Newton (DUP); David Ervine (PUP) Naomi Long (AP); Michael Copeland (UUP).

  • Belfast North:

    Nigel Dodds (DUP); Gerry Kelly (SF); Nelson McCausland (DUP); Fred Cobain (UUP); Alban Maginness (SDLP); Katy Stanton (SF).

  • Belfast South:

    Michael McGimpsey (UUP); Esmond Birnie (UUP); Mark Robinson (DUP); Alex Maskey (SF); Carmel Hanna (SDLP); Alasdair McDonnell (SDLP).

  • Belfast West:

    Gerry Adams (SF); Alex Attwood (SDLP); Fra McCann (SF); Bairbre de Brun (SF); Michael Ferguson (SF); Diane Dodds (DUP).

  • East Londonderry:

    Gregory Campbell (DUP); David McClarty (UUP); Francis Brolly (SF); George Robinson (DUP); Norman Hillis (UUP) John Dallat (SDLP).

  • Fermanagh & South Tyrone:

    Tom Elliot (UUP); Michelle Gildernew (SF); Arlene Foster (UUP); Tommy Gallagher (SDLP); Maurice Morrow (DUP); Tom O'Reilly (SF).

  • Foyle:

    Mark Durkan (SDLP); William Hay (DUP); Mitchel McLaughlin (SF); Mark Bradley (SDLP); Mary Nelis (SF); Pat Ramsey (SDLP).

  • Lagan Valley:

    Jeffery Donaldson (UUP); Edwin Poots (DUP); Billy Bell (UUP); Seamus Close (AP); Patricia Lewsley (SDLP); Norah Beare (UUP).

  • Mid Ulster:

    William McCrea (DUP); Martin McGuinness (SF); Francis Malloy (SF); Geraldine Dougan (SF); Billy Armstrong (UUP); Patsy McGlone (SDLP).

  • Newry & Armagh:

    Paul Berry (DUP); Conor Murphy (SF); Danny Kennedy (UUP); Davy Hyland (SF); Pat O'Rawe (SF); Dominic Bradley (SDLP).

  • North Down:

    Leslie Cree (UUP); Eileen Bell (AP); Peter Weir (DUP); Alex Easton (DUP); Alan McFarland (UUP) Robert McCartney (UKUP).

  • South Down:

    Jim Wells (DUP); PJ Bradley (SDLP); Dermot Nesbitt (UUP); Caitriona Ruane (SF); Margaret Ritchie (SDLP); Willie Clarke (SF).

  • Strangford:

    Iris Robinson (DUP); Lord Kilclooney (UUP); Jim Shannon (DUP); George Ennis (DUP) David McNarry (UUP). Kieran McCarthy (AP).

  • Upper Bann:

    David Trimble (UUP); David Simpson (DUP); Stephen Moutray (DUP); Samuel Gardiner (UUP) John O'Dowd (SF); Dolores Kelly (SDLP).

  • West Tyrone:

    Kieran Deeny (Ind); Pat Doherty (SF); Thomas Buchanan (DUP); Derek Hussey (UUP); Eugene McMenamin (SDLP).

In the 2003 Assembly Election the 20 parties have fielded 256 candidates in the 18 constituencies for the 108 seats in the Northern Ireland Legislative Assembly.


Related Northern Ireland News Stories
Click here for the latest headlines.

09 May 2005
NI council results at present
NI’s elected councillors as of Monday afternoon Carrickfergus: Billy Ashe, Terence Clement, David Hilditch, Patricia McKinney (DUP), Sean Neeson (AP), William Hamilton, Charles Brown (Ind) Newtownabbey: William Ball, Paula Bradley, Nigel Hamilton, Robert Hill, John Mann, Mandy Girvan (DUP), Tom Campbell, Lynn Frazer (AP), Janet Crilly, Ken Robi
11 January 2019
Four Men Charged Over £1m Cannabis Haul
Four men have been charged after the police seized an estimated £1million worth of cannabis on Wednesday 09 January. The men, aged 38, 29, 29 and 19 face a number of drug-related offences after being held at Musgrave PSNI station yesterday. Three are believed to be from south-east Asia and the fourth from North Africa.
07 January 2019
NI Councillors Condemn Newtownabbey Hate Crime
Elected representatives from Northern Ireland have responded to the news of a hate crime in Newtownabbey, in which five men were attacked with baseball bats. The victims, who are all originally from Romania, were assaulted during an aggravated burglary of a house in Hollybank Drive at around 8.20pm on Sunday 06 January.
11 December 2018
School Closed And Homes Evacuated As Belfast Bomb Alert Continues
A Belfast primary school remains closed today, Tuesday 11 December, and many west Belfast residents have been evacuated from their homes due to an ongoing security alert. A "signifiant number" of houses were evacuated as police closed off Upper Dunmurry Lane.
06 December 2018
10% Drop In NI Taxi Drivers
The number of taxi licences in Northern Ireland has fallen by 10% over the past year, a figure which an SDLP MLA has deemed "unacceptable". 10,666 taxis were operating across the region at the end of September 2018, representing a continuing downward trend, according to the new statistics released by the Department for Infrastructure.